Just Try Not to Laugh. I Dare You.

“This is a sport (wrestling) that has turned many boys into men and many men into leaders. And it is a sport in which you can be a giant regardless of how big you are.”  – Carl Albert

At a recent wrestling meet I noted the commands gently vocalized by the team coaches.  I was giggling so hard it was shameful! According to the wrestler’s secret language these phrases are critical to a player’s performance.  They have a profound meaning to the wrestler and coach.  But to the novice (me) and taken out of context… well….

greyhounds wrestling

High Crotch video for your viewing pleasure.

Whizzer!

And, of course, the FUNK ROLL.

I would be very careful simply Google searching these phrases without quotes “wrestling”.

  • Get it deep
  • Short time
  • Below the head
  • Don’t force it
  • Don’t reach under
  • Tie his wrist up
  • Suck it back
  • Get off the head
  • Get off the high
  • Short arm!  Short arm!
  • Belly down
  • Sink to hip
  • Slide down
  • Short sit

And my favorite team chant (when our team player is about to pin an opponent):

SQUEEEEEZZZZEEE!  SQUEEEEEZZZZEEE!   SQUEEEEEZZZZEEE!

DSC_0005

Cheers — Tammi

